Section: Press Releases

St. Jude’s Critical Care Unit Receives National Honor

St. Jude was recently honored with the 2016 Beacon Award for Excellence, from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). Among the approximate 420 hospitals in California, St. Jude is one of only 24 hospitals to earn the prestigious recognition, and one of only three in Orange County.

Fullerton, Calif. – Jan. 5, 2017 – The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses awarded St. Jude Medical Center the Beacon Award for Excellence for its exemplary care to critically ill patients and families. The award distinguishes critical care units who exemplify excellence in clinical practice and utilize today’s best evidence-based practices to improve outcomes.

“With this award, we are pleased to recognize caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes,” said AACN President Clareen Wiencek, RN, PhD, ACNP, ACHPN. “Teams that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care.”

The three-year Beacon Awards, presented at Gold, Silver and Bronze levels, honors units that exceed national benchmarks and demonstrate excellence in areas from complication rates to clinical knowledge and experience.

Laura Ramos, MSN, RN, VP, Patient Services and CNO at St. Jude, says the medical center’s silver-level award highlights the exemplary care experienced by patients and families within St. Jude’s Critical Care Unit. “The Beacon Award is one of the most respected awards among the nursing profession and a wonderful recognition of our ICU/CCU staff’s superior outcomes and care,” she explains. “Every day, their commitment and passion make a life-changing difference for our patients.”

About the Beacon Award for Excellence

Established in 2003, the Beacon Award for Excellence sets the standard for optimal patient care through improved outcomes, continuous learning and greater patient satisfaction. CCU Units that receive the Beacon Award demonstrate excellence in key areas: evidenced-based practice, patient outcomes, staff engagement and commitment, clinical knowledge and development, and leadership structures and systems. The award’s national criteria are consistent with MAGNET® Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award. AACN is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world, representing more than 500,000 nurses who are charged with caring for acutely and critically ill patients.

About St. Jude Medical Center

St. Jude Medical Center is a faith-based, non-profit, 320-bed facility, and is one of Southern California’s most-respected and technologically-advanced hospitals. With nearly 700 of the area’s finest physicians on staff, St. Jude offers every medical specialty and sub-specialty. Whether for the birth of a baby, life-saving surgery or a routine mammogram, St. Jude continues to set the standard for medical care and offers the community the most comprehensive array of services and programs. Areas of specialty include: Neuroscience, Stroke, Cancer, Cardiac, Maternity, Orthopedics and Joint Replacement and Rehabilitation.


Categories: Alert Banner

This is Your Hospital

Tell Us Why St. Jude is Your Hospital.

Tell My Story
This is Your Hospital