2015 Accreditations & Awards

  • St. Jude Achieves Magnet® Recognition

    St. Jude Medical Center has earned Magnet recognition, a coveted national honor earned by only 8 percent of U.S. hospitals. This award is the highest accolade in nursing excellence that any hospital can receive.

    The honor recognizes healthcare organizations that deliver an extraordinary level of patient care, demonstrate excellence in nursing practice, exceed national standards and benchmarks, and display innovation and leadership in improving outcomes. (Accreditation is for 2015 - 2019)

  • Advanced Comprehensive Stroke Center

    The Joint Commission and American Heart Association/American Stroke Association designated St. Jude Medical Center as an Advanced Comprehensive Stroke Center, a national recognition which honors those hospitals that meet its exacting standards for the treatment of stroke and make exceptional efforts to foster better patient outcomes. St. Jude is proud to be among only 100 hospitals to have earned this designation in the nation, and only 10 in the state. (Accreditation is for 2015 - 2017)

  • Physicians of Excellence

    Nearly 50 members of SJMC's medical staff were distinguished by the Orange County Medical Association as "2015 Physicians of Excellence." The annual program honors the region's outstanding physicians for their dedication to the profession and for their service to the community.

  • Excellence in Healthcare Award

    St. Jude Heritage Medical Group was honored by the Integrated Healthcare Association for achieving excellence in healthcare and quality improvement. To earn this recognition, physician organizations must have performance that ranks in the top 50 percent of organizations for each of three domains: clinical quality, patient experience, and total cost of care. Out of over 200 physician organizations, 22 achieved this honor for 2015, based on the IHA statewide Value Based P4P program results for measurement year 2014.

  • Three-year Accreditation by The Joint Commission

    By meeting the highest national standards in patient safety and quality of care, St. Jude earned 3-year accreditation by The Joint Commission. The accreditation is based on the results of an unannounced on-site survey. Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission is dedicated to continuously improving the safety and quality of the nation's healthcare through voluntary accreditation. (Accreditation is for 2015 - 2019)

  • Cardiac Surgery Ranks Among Nation's Best

    St. Jude Medical Center's cardiac surgery program received the top national ranking—three stars—from the Society of Thoracic Surgeons. The comprehensive rating system compares the quality of Coronary Artery Bypass Grafting (CABG) outcomes among hospitals across the country. Less than 15 percent of hospitals receive this recognition. This ranking is based on data results for measurement year 2014.

  • C-section Rates Among the Lowest

    A hospital safety watchdog group has created a national database for expectant parents to look up hospital Cesarean rates. St. Jude’s 13.5 percent rate was the lowest in the county. Cesarean births results in major surgery, longer recoveries times for mothers and higher healthcare costs.

  • St. Jude Earns 2015 Gold Plus Award

    St. Jude Medical Center’s Stroke Center has been awarded the American Heart/American Stroke Association's 2015 Gold Plus Award, an advanced level of recognition that acknowledges St. Jude’s compliance with the Quality Measures within the Get With The Guidelines® Stroke Program. Get With The Guidelines® is a program that helps ensure consistent application of the most recent American Heart Association/American Stroke Association scientific guidelines for patient treatment.

  • Target Stroke Honor Roll-Elite Award

    St. Jude has received the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Get With The Guidelines®–Target: Stroke Honor Roll-Elite Quality Achievement Award for 2015. The award recognizes the hospital’s commitment and success ensuring that stroke patients receive the most appropriate treatment according to nationally recognized and research-based guidelines. We are one of only 559 hospitals to receive this award, hospitals must meet quality measures developed to reduce the time between the patient’s arrival and treatment with the clot-buster tissue plasminogen activator, or tPA, the only drug approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to treat ischemic stroke. St. Jude has also met the stringent guidelines to be distinguished an Advanced Comprehensive Stroke Center.

This is Your Hospital

Tell Us Why St. Jude is Your Hospital.

Tell My Story
This is Your Hospital